About the Emerging Writers’ Festival

The Emerging Writers’ Festival is a not-for-profit organisation whose foundations are built on supporting emerging writers. We are a place where creativity and innovation are celebrated, where new talent is nurtured and where diverse voices from across Australia are represented.

The 2016 Festival runs from Tuesday 14 June – Friday 24 June. 

Contact Us

In writing
PO Box 21251
Little Lonsdale St
Melbourne VIC 8011

By phone
+(613) 9094 7839

By email


We are located in the Wheeler Centre for Books, Writing & Ideas.


We thank our generous supporters.


Emerging Writers’ Festival Staff

Festival Director / Co-CEO
Michaela McGuire

General Manager / Co-CEO
Kate Callingham

Program Coordinator
Else Fitzgerald

Marketing and Development Coordinator
Sarah Werkmeister

Creative Producers
Izzy Roberts-Orr
Fiona Spitzkowsky
Eric Gardner
Else Fitzgerald
Adelaide Fisher
Zoe Simbolon

Emerging Writers’ Festival Board

Andrea Spencer (Chair)
Erica Chan (Secretary)

Paul Higgins (Treasurer)
Claire Butler
Tim Fisher
Kirsten Freeman
Mandie Armstrong
Sandra Stoklossa
Craig Semple

Program Advisory Committee

Each year the EWF works with a small group of writers and industry professionals with strong local and national networks to develop the festival program. The 2016 Program Advisory Committee is:

Andre Dao
Brodie Lancaster
Emilie Zoey Baker
Gillian Terzis
Hannie Rayson
Jax Jacki Brown